Sign up for email updates from Reno Rodeo Association

Home > About > History > Past Presidents

Past Presidents

The position of Reno Rodeo President has been held by a colorful and varied assortment of local businessmen: from doctors, lawyers, realtors, and casino owners to ranchers, printers, painter and law enforcement, the common denominator being an unbridled passion for the Reno Rodeo and its success.

While the presidency is officially a year long, culminating in the rodeo, the preparation and planning starts long before taking office. For most of these men, the journey began as volunteer, working admissions, parking, and even stalls. Working through wrangler status, becoming a director, and ultimately taking a major leadership role on the executive board, led them to the presidency.

The past presidents have their own committee, keeping many of the presidents active for years after their term of service is over. There wisdom and knowledge is sought after by those who are continuing to lead the association. In addition, they lead the charge for the museum, special projects such as the commemorative bricks, and more.
Brad Sidener
Scott Peterson 2016
Larry Stacy 2015
Bill Bertelson 2014
John Tipton 2013
Clint Thiesse 2012
Mike Lucke 2011
Ray Callahan 2010
Gordie Cowan 2009
Mark Elston 2008
Kevin McKee 2007
Jerry David 2006
Wayne Lund 2005
Tom Cates 2004
Jim Carpenter 2003
Garry Jackson 2002
Steve Hunter 2001
Mike Mentaberry 2000
Bill Price 1999
John Solari 1998
Bob Martini 1997
Joe Martin 1996
David Cox 1995
Dan Warren 1994
Jon Key 1993
Frank Cassas 1992
Bob Lyle 1991
Bob Britton 1990
Steve Walther 1989
Grant Dalen 1988
Bob Beach 1987
Jim Caselli 1986
Chuck Ewolt 1985
Tim Grinsell 1984
Lee McKenzie1983
Vince Swinney 1982
Clint Wells 1981
Jack Walther 1980
Paul Richards 1979
Bill Elwell 1978
Frank Knafelc 1977
Dom Azevedo 1976
Frank Groves 1975
Jack Utter 1974
Ernie Martinelli 1973
Jim Halley 1972
Robert Peterson 1971
Jack Horgan 1970
B. Zimmerman 1969
Harry Drakert 1968
George Solari 1967
Charles Mapes1966
G. Southworth 1965
Jack Walther 1964
Harry Frost 1963
Ray Peterson 1950 - 1962
Howard Doyle 1949
Charlie Sadleir 1935 - 1948
For more information about the museum or Legacy Project, please contact

To purchase a commemorative brick or for more information, please contact
Back to
< Back